dyninst.git
7 years agoFix missing error check in analysis stepper that led to an assert.
Matthew LeGendre [Wed, 23 Jan 2013 00:22:57 +0000 (16:22 -0800)]
Fix missing error check in analysis stepper that led to an assert.

7 years agoFix for NULL thread in event when doing async memory read/writes on non-async platforms.
Matthew LeGendre [Wed, 16 Jan 2013 18:59:08 +0000 (10:59 -0800)]
Fix for NULL thread in event when doing async memory read/writes on non-async platforms.

7 years agoAdd ProcControlAPI as library dependency in StackwalkerAPI
Matthew LeGendre [Fri, 4 Jan 2013 23:30:06 +0000 (15:30 -0800)]
Add ProcControlAPI as library dependency in StackwalkerAPI

7 years agoFix problem where StackwalkerAPI was opening every library in the process
Matthew LeGendre [Fri, 4 Jan 2013 23:29:39 +0000 (15:29 -0800)]
Fix problem where StackwalkerAPI was opening every library in the process

7 years agoMake stackwalker optimizations BG/Q friendly by avoiding unnecessary file opens.
Andrew Bernat [Tue, 18 Dec 2012 21:01:01 +0000 (15:01 -0600)]
Make stackwalker optimizations BG/Q friendly by avoiding unnecessary file opens.

7 years agoRevert "Various tailcall updates."
Andrew Bernat [Tue, 18 Dec 2012 20:13:49 +0000 (14:13 -0600)]
Revert "Various tailcall updates."

This reverts commit 86b7bfee289da2d417f493416423744b851514ea.

7 years agoMake StackwalkerAPI use PC's detach-and-leave-stopped functionality
Matthew LeGendre [Thu, 13 Dec 2012 00:44:34 +0000 (16:44 -0800)]
Make StackwalkerAPI use PC's detach-and-leave-stopped functionality

7 years agoImplement detach-and-leave-stopped in PC
Matthew LeGendre [Thu, 13 Dec 2012 00:44:16 +0000 (16:44 -0800)]
Implement detach-and-leave-stopped in PC

7 years agoAdd missing case in handleLEA()
Bill Williams [Tue, 11 Dec 2012 16:11:11 +0000 (10:11 -0600)]
Add missing case in handleLEA()

7 years agoBump DynC major version, fix parseAPI non-recursive mode crash.
Bill Williams [Tue, 11 Dec 2012 16:05:48 +0000 (10:05 -0600)]
Bump DynC major version, fix parseAPI non-recursive mode crash.

7 years agoDebugStepper and getLibraryAtAddr optimizations.
Emily Jacobson [Mon, 10 Dec 2012 17:50:58 +0000 (11:50 -0600)]
DebugStepper and getLibraryAtAddr optimizations.

7 years agoRemove debugging print
Matthew LeGendre [Fri, 7 Dec 2012 00:38:01 +0000 (16:38 -0800)]
Remove debugging print

7 years agoFix Elf parsing crash during static/static rewriting
Matthew LeGendre [Fri, 7 Dec 2012 00:37:54 +0000 (16:37 -0800)]
Fix Elf parsing crash during static/static rewriting

7 years agoVarious tailcall updates.
Emily Jacobson [Thu, 6 Dec 2012 20:28:50 +0000 (14:28 -0600)]
Various tailcall updates.
- Identify indirect tail calls
- Allow NOPs before CFT
- Mark edges INTERPROC

7 years agoUpdate dwarf parsing; don't crash (via libdwarf abort() or explicit assert()) on...
Andrew Bernat [Thu, 6 Dec 2012 19:30:29 +0000 (13:30 -0600)]
Update dwarf parsing; don't crash (via libdwarf abort() or explicit assert()) on bad dwarf info, just escape from parsing.

7 years agoMerge branch 'v8.0.x' of git.dyninst.org:/pub/dyninst into v8.0.x
Andrew Bernat [Wed, 5 Dec 2012 22:45:23 +0000 (16:45 -0600)]
Merge branch 'v8.0.x' of git.dyninst.org:/pub/dyninst into v8.0.x

7 years agoMore Windows fixes; generate run groups info for all tests (we had an off-by-one).
Andrew Bernat [Wed, 5 Dec 2012 22:44:51 +0000 (16:44 -0600)]
More Windows fixes; generate run groups info for all tests (we had an off-by-one).

7 years agoMerge branch 'v8.0.x' of git.dyninst.org:/pub/dyninst into v8.0.x
Andrew Bernat [Wed, 5 Dec 2012 22:19:27 +0000 (16:19 -0600)]
Merge branch 'v8.0.x' of git.dyninst.org:/pub/dyninst into v8.0.x

7 years agoMore Windows fixes
Andrew Bernat [Wed, 5 Dec 2012 22:18:41 +0000 (16:18 -0600)]
More Windows fixes

7 years agoMiscellaneous Windows fixes
Andrew Bernat [Wed, 5 Dec 2012 22:18:21 +0000 (16:18 -0600)]
Miscellaneous Windows fixes

7 years agoFix windows off-by-one errors in generated code.
Andrew Bernat [Wed, 5 Dec 2012 22:17:09 +0000 (16:17 -0600)]
Fix windows off-by-one errors in generated code.

7 years agoRemoved Dyner from Dyninst source tree; it has been moved to the tools repo.
Andrew Bernat [Tue, 4 Dec 2012 22:10:20 +0000 (16:10 -0600)]
Removed Dyner from Dyninst source tree; it has been moved to the tools repo.

7 years agoFixed typo dealing with types.
Andrew Bernat [Sun, 2 Dec 2012 02:39:40 +0000 (20:39 -0600)]
Fixed typo dealing with types.

7 years agoFixed emitElf::driver bug.
Emily Jacobson [Sun, 2 Dec 2012 19:52:38 +0000 (13:52 -0600)]
Fixed emitElf::driver bug.

7 years agoFix zip code on manuals.
Andrew Bernat [Sat, 1 Dec 2012 02:17:30 +0000 (20:17 -0600)]
Fix zip code on manuals.

7 years agoUpdate StackwalkerAPI documentation to conform to current API.
Andrew Bernat [Sat, 1 Dec 2012 02:06:49 +0000 (20:06 -0600)]
Update StackwalkerAPI documentation to conform to current API.

7 years agomkostemp is not supported on RHEL5; replaced with mkstemp
Andrew Bernat [Fri, 30 Nov 2012 23:15:16 +0000 (17:15 -0600)]
mkostemp is not supported on RHEL5; replaced with mkstemp

7 years agoUse mktemp/rename approach for writing binaries.
Andrew Bernat [Fri, 30 Nov 2012 23:05:24 +0000 (17:05 -0600)]
Use mktemp/rename approach for writing binaries.

7 years agoUpdated the RT library make.module.tmpl to include a static target.
Emily Jacobson [Fri, 30 Nov 2012 22:56:14 +0000 (16:56 -0600)]
Updated the RT library make.module.tmpl to include a static target.

7 years agoUpdate makefile version numbers to 8.0
Andrew Bernat [Fri, 30 Nov 2012 22:33:56 +0000 (16:33 -0600)]
Update makefile version numbers to 8.0

7 years agoIAPI documentation updates
Andrew Bernat [Fri, 30 Nov 2012 22:12:11 +0000 (16:12 -0600)]
IAPI documentation updates

7 years agoMerge branch 'v8.0.x' of git.dyninst.org:/pub/dyninst into v8.0.x
Evan Samanas [Fri, 30 Nov 2012 21:35:19 +0000 (15:35 -0600)]
Merge branch 'v8.0.x' of git.dyninst.org:/pub/dyninst into v8.0.x

7 years agoMinor StackwalkerAPI doc changes
Evan Samanas [Fri, 30 Nov 2012 21:34:38 +0000 (15:34 -0600)]
Minor StackwalkerAPI doc changes

7 years agoRemoved duplicate dwarf_printf_int
Emily Jacobson [Fri, 30 Nov 2012 20:47:06 +0000 (14:47 -0600)]
Removed duplicate dwarf_printf_int

7 years agoUpdated instruction_cb signature in ParseAPI documentation
Emily Jacobson [Fri, 30 Nov 2012 20:03:58 +0000 (14:03 -0600)]
Updated instruction_cb signature in ParseAPI documentation

7 years agoFixed StackAnalysis::handleLEA bug.
Emily Jacobson [Fri, 30 Nov 2012 19:50:06 +0000 (13:50 -0600)]
Fixed StackAnalysis::handleLEA bug.

7 years agoStackwalker API documentation updates.
Andrew Bernat [Fri, 30 Nov 2012 19:35:56 +0000 (13:35 -0600)]
Stackwalker API documentation updates.

7 years agoSecond half of InstructionAPI doc is updated to new LaTex formatting
Xiaozhu Meng [Fri, 30 Nov 2012 16:15:43 +0000 (10:15 -0600)]
Second half of InstructionAPI doc is updated to new LaTex formatting

7 years agoFirst half of InstructionAPI doc is updated to new LaTeX formatting.
Emily Jacobson [Thu, 29 Nov 2012 21:05:01 +0000 (15:05 -0600)]
First half of InstructionAPI doc is updated to new LaTeX formatting.

7 years agoInstructionAPI documentation updates.
Emily Jacobson [Thu, 29 Nov 2012 20:03:56 +0000 (14:03 -0600)]
InstructionAPI documentation updates.

7 years agoConverted DynC API documentation into standard LaTeX format.
Emily Jacobson [Thu, 29 Nov 2012 19:45:34 +0000 (13:45 -0600)]
Converted DynC API documentation into standard LaTeX format.

7 years agoCheck if we're reusing a file during rewriter write and fail if we do.
Andrew Bernat [Fri, 30 Nov 2012 15:31:36 +0000 (09:31 -0600)]
Check if we're reusing a file during rewriter write and fail if we do.

7 years agoUpdate testsuite makefiles; we no longer fail to make if a mutatee fails to build...
Andrew Bernat [Thu, 29 Nov 2012 22:02:01 +0000 (16:02 -0600)]
Update testsuite makefiles; we no longer fail to make if a mutatee fails to build. In several cases this is valid (missing compilers/libraries/etc.).

7 years agoMerge branch 'master' into v8.0.x
Andrew Bernat [Thu, 29 Nov 2012 20:52:26 +0000 (14:52 -0600)]
Merge branch 'master' into v8.0.x

7 years agoFix Fortran tests to compile and run; we were using local variables in a different...
Paradyn Project [Thu, 29 Nov 2012 20:50:48 +0000 (12:50 -0800)]
Fix Fortran tests to compile and run; we were using local variables in a different function.
Add Ubuntu 12.04 32-bit libc.a path to magic list of linux libc.a paths.

7 years agoFix build problem with multiple main definitions on Fortran.
Paradyn Project [Thu, 29 Nov 2012 19:10:48 +0000 (11:10 -0800)]
Fix build problem with multiple main definitions on Fortran.

7 years agoUpdated make.config to properly select Tcl8.3 or Tcl8.4
Emily Jacobson [Thu, 29 Nov 2012 15:19:55 +0000 (09:19 -0600)]
Updated make.config to properly select Tcl8.3 or Tcl8.4

7 years agoUpdated Dyner to build against 8.0
Emily Jacobson [Thu, 29 Nov 2012 15:19:06 +0000 (09:19 -0600)]
Updated Dyner to build against 8.0

7 years agoAdded stackwalk/doc LaTeX files.
Emily Jacobson [Wed, 28 Nov 2012 22:08:21 +0000 (16:08 -0600)]
Added stackwalk/doc LaTeX files.

7 years agoFix EdgePredicate example for formatting and correctness.
Bill Williams [Wed, 28 Nov 2012 16:53:07 +0000 (10:53 -0600)]
Fix EdgePredicate example for formatting and correctness.

7 years agoMore things to ignore: emacs autosaves, callgrind output, .orig files from patching...
Bill Williams [Wed, 28 Nov 2012 16:44:26 +0000 (10:44 -0600)]
More things to ignore: emacs autosaves, callgrind output, .orig files from patching, IAPI html documentation

7 years agoInstructionAPI .tex files for DOxygen->regular LaTeX update, and 8.0 versioning
Bill Williams [Wed, 28 Nov 2012 16:43:18 +0000 (10:43 -0600)]
InstructionAPI .tex files for DOxygen->regular LaTeX update, and 8.0 versioning

7 years agoFix dynC examples to correctly use inf`printf instead of printf.
Bill Williams [Wed, 28 Nov 2012 16:24:42 +0000 (10:24 -0600)]
Fix dynC examples to correctly use inf`printf instead of printf.

7 years agoMerge branch 'master' of git.dyninst.org:/pub/dyninst
Matthew LeGendre [Wed, 28 Nov 2012 01:23:23 +0000 (17:23 -0800)]
Merge branch 'master' of git.dyninst.org:/pub/dyninst

Conflicts:
symlite/src/SymLite-elf.C
symtabAPI/h/SymtabReader.h
symtabAPI/src/Object-elf.C
symtabAPI/src/SymtabReader.C

7 years agoMerge branch 'master' into v8.0.1
Matthew LeGendre [Wed, 28 Nov 2012 01:18:45 +0000 (17:18 -0800)]
Merge branch 'master' into v8.0.1

Conflicts:
make.components
symlite/src/SymLite-elf.C
symtabAPI/h/SymtabReader.h
symtabAPI/src/Object-elf.h
symtabAPI/src/SymtabReader.C

7 years agoFix recent DWARF changes to work with libelf.so.0 and older Elfutils
Matthew LeGendre [Wed, 28 Nov 2012 00:30:24 +0000 (16:30 -0800)]
Fix recent DWARF changes to work with libelf.so.0 and older Elfutils

7 years agoBug fixes after testing DWARF changes
Matthew LeGendre [Tue, 27 Nov 2012 22:50:21 +0000 (14:50 -0800)]
Bug fixes after testing DWARF changes

7 years agoCleanup how parameters and local vars are returned from Symtab
Matthew LeGendre [Tue, 27 Nov 2012 19:02:43 +0000 (11:02 -0800)]
Cleanup how parameters and local vars are returned from Symtab

7 years agoDWARF fixes. Handle cases where debug info is split between debuglink file and library.
Matthew LeGendre [Tue, 27 Nov 2012 19:00:46 +0000 (11:00 -0800)]
DWARF fixes.  Handle cases where debug info is split between debuglink file and library.

7 years agoFix support for DW_AT_ranges when parsing lexecial blocks in DWARF type info
Matthew LeGendre [Mon, 26 Nov 2012 21:15:54 +0000 (13:15 -0800)]
Fix support for DW_AT_ranges when parsing lexecial blocks in DWARF type info

7 years agoAdd -ldl to ProcControl if configure decides we need it.
Andrew Bernat [Wed, 21 Nov 2012 21:33:56 +0000 (15:33 -0600)]
Add -ldl to ProcControl if configure decides we need it.

7 years ago1) We were reordering library dependencies (and possibly leaving some out!)
Andrew Bernat [Wed, 21 Nov 2012 21:30:17 +0000 (15:30 -0600)]
1) We were reordering library dependencies (and possibly leaving some out!)
   in the rewriter; this caused a Bull MPI test to crash. Fixed.
2) Cleaned up make.components
3) Fixed parseThat to have -ldl on the end of the link line. Again.

7 years agoFix problem with local variable lookup failing in SW when built without Symtab support
Matthew LeGendre [Tue, 20 Nov 2012 21:53:50 +0000 (13:53 -0800)]
Fix problem with local variable lookup failing in SW when built without Symtab support

7 years agoFix typo in warning cleanup
Matthew LeGendre [Tue, 20 Nov 2012 21:43:30 +0000 (13:43 -0800)]
Fix typo in warning cleanup

7 years agoBuild fix for local variable access from StackwalkerAPI
Matthew LeGendre [Tue, 20 Nov 2012 21:37:56 +0000 (13:37 -0800)]
Build fix for local variable access from StackwalkerAPI

7 years agoClean warnings on x86_64 build
Matthew LeGendre [Tue, 20 Nov 2012 21:37:40 +0000 (13:37 -0800)]
Clean warnings on x86_64 build

7 years agoFreeBSD: remove explicit template instantiations; they're not required
Andrew Bernat [Tue, 20 Nov 2012 21:19:36 +0000 (15:19 -0600)]
FreeBSD: remove explicit template instantiations; they're not required

7 years agoRename the symbol reader getRegions to getSegments, since the desired return is an...
Andrew Bernat [Tue, 20 Nov 2012 20:14:50 +0000 (14:14 -0600)]
Rename the symbol reader getRegions to getSegments, since the desired return is an ELF segment equivalent rather than a SymtabAPI region. The SymLiteCodeSource could use some cleanup.

7 years agoFix dependencies
Andrew Bernat [Mon, 19 Nov 2012 21:22:29 +0000 (15:22 -0600)]
Fix dependencies

7 years agoUpdate SymtabAPI documentation
Xiaozhu Meng [Mon, 19 Nov 2012 17:56:04 +0000 (11:56 -0600)]
Update SymtabAPI documentation

7 years agoFreeBSD: remove explicit template instantiations; they're not required
Andrew Bernat [Tue, 20 Nov 2012 21:19:36 +0000 (15:19 -0600)]
FreeBSD: remove explicit template instantiations; they're not required

7 years agoRename the symbol reader getRegions to getSegments, since the desired return is an...
Andrew Bernat [Tue, 20 Nov 2012 20:14:50 +0000 (14:14 -0600)]
Rename the symbol reader getRegions to getSegments, since the desired return is an ELF segment equivalent rather than a SymtabAPI region. The SymLiteCodeSource could use some cleanup.

7 years agoMerge remote branch 'remotes/origin/biter'
Matthew LeGendre [Tue, 20 Nov 2012 19:18:50 +0000 (11:18 -0800)]
Merge remote branch 'remotes/origin/biter'

7 years agoMerge branch 'master' of git.dyninst.org:/pub/dyninst
Matthew LeGendre [Tue, 20 Nov 2012 19:16:36 +0000 (11:16 -0800)]
Merge branch 'master' of git.dyninst.org:/pub/dyninst

Conflicts:
make.components
proccontrol/src/bluegeneq.C
testsuite/ppc64_bgq_ion/test_info_new.gen.C

7 years agoFix dependencies
Andrew Bernat [Mon, 19 Nov 2012 21:22:29 +0000 (15:22 -0600)]
Fix dependencies

7 years agoUpdate SymtabAPI documentation v8.0
Xiaozhu Meng [Mon, 19 Nov 2012 17:56:04 +0000 (11:56 -0600)]
Update SymtabAPI documentation

7 years agoFix dependencies
Paradyn Project [Mon, 19 Nov 2012 12:31:56 +0000 (04:31 -0800)]
Fix dependencies

7 years agoFix a segfault when adding a relocation
Andrew Bernat [Mon, 19 Nov 2012 16:02:49 +0000 (10:02 -0600)]
Fix a segfault when adding a relocation

7 years agoFix dependencies
Paradyn Project [Mon, 19 Nov 2012 12:31:56 +0000 (04:31 -0800)]
Fix dependencies

7 years agoDocumentation updates
Andrew Bernat [Thu, 15 Nov 2012 23:30:11 +0000 (17:30 -0600)]
Documentation updates

7 years agoChange version definition from 7 to 8.
Andrew Bernat [Thu, 15 Nov 2012 21:27:15 +0000 (15:27 -0600)]
Change version definition from 7 to 8.

7 years agoAdd a dependence symlite->dynElf
Andrew Bernat [Thu, 15 Nov 2012 00:08:46 +0000 (18:08 -0600)]
Add a dependence symlite->dynElf

7 years agoBuild system cleanup. Fix accidentaly reproduced variable values
Matthew P. Legendre [Mon, 8 Oct 2012 23:07:10 +0000 (16:07 -0700)]
Build system cleanup.  Fix accidentaly reproduced variable values

Conflicts:
make.components
make.config

7 years agoRefactor the spec generated test_info_new.gen.C. It's large function was preventing...
Matthew P. Legendre [Wed, 10 Oct 2012 18:29:22 +0000 (11:29 -0700)]
Refactor the spec generated test_info_new.gen.C.  It's large function was preventing valgrind from running.

Conflicts:
testsuite/amd64-unknown-freebsd7.2/test_info_new.gen.C
testsuite/i386-unknown-freebsd7.2/test_info_new.gen.C
testsuite/i386-unknown-linux2.4/test_info_new.gen.C
testsuite/ppc32_bgp/test_info_new.gen.C
testsuite/ppc32_bgp_ion/test_info_new.gen.C
testsuite/ppc32_linux/test_info_new.gen.C
testsuite/ppc64_bgq_ion/test_info_new.gen.C
testsuite/ppc64_linux/test_info_new.gen.C
testsuite/x86_64-unknown-linux2.4/test_info_new.gen.C

7 years agoAdded option to lock around PC debug prints to sanitize output
Matthew P. Legendre [Tue, 30 Oct 2012 22:00:07 +0000 (15:00 -0700)]
Added option to lock around PC debug prints to sanitize output

Conflicts:
proccontrol/src/bluegeneq.C

7 years agoFix incorrect #ifdefs on BGQ in detach handling
Matthew P. Legendre [Tue, 30 Oct 2012 21:54:31 +0000 (14:54 -0700)]
Fix incorrect #ifdefs on BGQ in detach handling

Conflicts:
proccontrol/src/handler.C

7 years agoTestsuite fixes for BGQ
Matthew P. Legendre [Wed, 31 Oct 2012 23:25:59 +0000 (16:25 -0700)]
Testsuite fixes for BGQ

7 years agoRemove libdwarf dependency from symlite and dynelf
Matthew P. Legendre [Wed, 31 Oct 2012 23:26:30 +0000 (16:26 -0700)]
Remove libdwarf dependency from symlite and dynelf

7 years agoFix launchmon based PC test startup on BGQ
Matthew P. Legendre [Wed, 31 Oct 2012 23:31:04 +0000 (16:31 -0700)]
Fix launchmon based PC test startup on BGQ

7 years agoFixes for re-attaching to process on BGQ.
Matthew P. Legendre [Fri, 9 Nov 2012 21:39:14 +0000 (13:39 -0800)]
Fixes for re-attaching to process on BGQ.

7 years agoAdd RT library build file to ProcControl
Matthew P. Legendre [Fri, 9 Nov 2012 23:34:53 +0000 (15:34 -0800)]
Add RT library build file to ProcControl

7 years agoSet the testsuite runmodes VN/DUAL/SMP to be BGP only, not BGQ.
Matthew P. Legendre [Fri, 9 Nov 2012 23:35:42 +0000 (15:35 -0800)]
Set the testsuite runmodes VN/DUAL/SMP to be BGP only, not BGQ.

7 years agoFix bgq test launch to work for both proccontrol and binary rewriting
Matthew P. Legendre [Fri, 9 Nov 2012 23:36:20 +0000 (15:36 -0800)]
Fix bgq test launch to work for both proccontrol and binary rewriting

7 years agoRemove unnecessary -pthread option from SymtabAPI Makefiles
Andrew Bernat [Tue, 13 Nov 2012 19:34:45 +0000 (13:34 -0600)]
Remove unnecessary -pthread option from SymtabAPI Makefiles

7 years agoMerge branch 'master' of /usr/gapps/asde/git-repos/tools/dyninst/dyninst into biter
Matthew P. Legendre [Sat, 10 Nov 2012 00:02:25 +0000 (16:02 -0800)]
Merge branch 'master' of /usr/gapps/asde/git-repos/tools/dyninst/dyninst into biter

7 years agoMerge branch 'master' of git.dyninst.org:/pub/dyninst
Matthew P. Legendre [Fri, 9 Nov 2012 23:55:41 +0000 (15:55 -0800)]
Merge branch 'master' of git.dyninst.org:/pub/dyninst

7 years agoMerge branch 'master' of /usr/gapps/asde/git-repos/tools/dyninst/dyninst
Matthew P. Legendre [Fri, 9 Nov 2012 23:42:49 +0000 (15:42 -0800)]
Merge branch 'master' of /usr/gapps/asde/git-repos/tools/dyninst/dyninst

7 years agoFix bgq test launch to work for both proccontrol and binary rewriting
Matthew P. Legendre [Fri, 9 Nov 2012 23:36:20 +0000 (15:36 -0800)]
Fix bgq test launch to work for both proccontrol and binary rewriting

7 years agoSet the testsuite runmodes VN/DUAL/SMP to be BGP only, not BGQ.
Matthew P. Legendre [Fri, 9 Nov 2012 23:35:42 +0000 (15:35 -0800)]
Set the testsuite runmodes VN/DUAL/SMP to be BGP only, not BGQ.

7 years agoAdd RT library build file to ProcControl
Matthew P. Legendre [Fri, 9 Nov 2012 23:34:53 +0000 (15:34 -0800)]
Add RT library build file to ProcControl