common: try process_vm_readv/writev for Linux bulk access
authorJosh Stone <jistone@redhat.com>
Thu, 30 Jul 2015 22:25:00 +0000 (15:25 -0700)
committerXiaozhu Meng <xmeng@cs.wisc.edu>
Mon, 3 Aug 2015 16:48:56 +0000 (11:48 -0500)
commitd8da2c397666ddb96d99ed3b1e4e6a90e6970ecb
tree18097232f6ee5acda88a53797ac003bd1828f8cc
parent5367d896443082baff485178210793297ae70856
common: try process_vm_readv/writev for Linux bulk access

These syscalls can read/write entire blocks of memory in one syscall,
rather than using a series of word-sized ptrace peek/poke requests.

However, not all kernels have these (ENOSYS), and they don't bypass page
protection (EFAULT), so the ptrace way is still required as a fallback.
common/src/linuxKludges.C
common/src/linuxKludges.h