Use const string& parameters for stats
authorJosh Stone <jistone@redhat.com>
Tue, 28 Jan 2014 02:19:50 +0000 (18:19 -0800)
committerJosh Stone <jistone@redhat.com>
Wed, 12 Feb 2014 22:27:22 +0000 (14:27 -0800)
commit649c09a540171826654d8d2725d281257a74cd79
treea04db30ff29a1021a29c89d48b5a0dccb94225cc
parent8f5df773905b04d7c844d8221167b7f76969b5f7
Use const string& parameters for stats

The stats functions don't need mutable parameters, so a const& suffices
just fine.  Also convert all the fixed string names of counters and
timers from string literals to std::string in dyninstAPI and parseAPI.

Even when stats were disabled, there was a fair amount of time spent
just preparing the string object for stats calls.  The optimization of
this patch shows 5-10% reduction in parse time on large binaries.
common/src/stats.C
common/src/stats.h
dyninstAPI/src/debug.C
dyninstAPI/src/debug.h
parseAPI/h/CodeSource.h
parseAPI/h/SymLiteCodeSource.h
parseAPI/src/SymLiteCodeSource.C
parseAPI/src/SymtabCodeSource.C
parseAPI/src/debug_parse.C
parseAPI/src/debug_parse.h